St. Moritz 1928 Winter Olympic Games

Due to the prestige of the 1928 premiere, three Swiss towns put out bids to host the Winter Olympics. St. Moritz eventually won over Davos and Engelberg.


Time and Place: St. Moritz (Switzerland), 11 – 19 February 1928
Participation: 26 countries, 464 athletes
Number of sports: 4 sports, 14 events
Number of Slovenian athletes: 6
Fire lit by: lit for the first time in 1936
Games opened by: Edmund Schulthess
Olympic oath: Hans Eidenbenz (ski jumper, Nordic combined athlete, cross country skier)


Trivia from the St. Moritz 1928 Winter Olympic Games

Organizers had terrible luck with the weather and were eventually forced to cancel several events and carry out even more in very difficult circumstances. Nevertheless, athletes and IOC representatives were more than pleased with the organization and it became clear that Winter Olympic Games would became a permanent fixture in the sports calendar.


12 countries managed to win Olympic medals. Unfortunately, the Yugoslavian delegation to the Swiss Olympics, consisting of six Slovenians, won no medals. Scandinavians again took the initiative at the games, particularly the Norwegians who took home 15 medals. The most notable athletes included cross country skier Johan Gröttumsbraaten and speed skaters Bernt Evenson and Ivar Ballangrund. Another gold medal was contributed to the Norwegian collection by barely 15 year old figure skater Sonja Henie, who maintained her position as the youngest ever Olympic medal winner for 74 years.

In the only team sport at the Games, ice hockey, Canadians proved to be in a class of their own. The Toronto University team easily dealt with the opposition, scoring 38 goals in the process and keeping the Canadian net untouched.